Emerging Trends | ITU Plenipotentiary Conference 2018
November 5, 2018

ITU Member States elect ITU Council and Radio Regulations Board members

By ITU News

ITU Member States meeting in Dubai for the Union’s Plenipotentiary Conference have now elected the members of Radio Regulations Board and the Member States that will serve the ITU Council.

The Radio Regulations Board (RRB) is a part-time body of 12 members representing ITU’s five regions.

It is the RRB’s job to approve the Rules of Procedure in application of the Radio Regulations, the international treaty governing the use of the radio-frequency spectrum and the use of satellite orbits. The RRB also serves as an appeal board in case of disputes and provides advice to World Radiocommunication Conferences and Radiocommunication Assemblies.

The winning candidates to serve from 2019-2023 are:

  • The Americas – Chantal Beaumier (Canada); Fernando Borjón Figueroa (Mexico).
  • Western Europe – Yvon Henri (France); Lilian Jeanty (Netherlands)
  • Eastern Europe and Northern Asia – Sahiba Hasanova (Azerbaijan); Nikolay Varlamov (Russian Federation).
  • Africa – Elsayed Azzouz (Egypt); Samuel Mandla Mchunu (South Africa); Hassan Talib (Morocco).
  • Asia/Australasia – Tariq Alamri (Saudi Arabia); Akira Hashimoto (Japan); Doan Quang Hoan (Viet Nam).
About ITU Council

The ITU Council, which comprises 48 Member States, serves as the governing body of ITU in between the quadrennial Plenipotentiary Conferences, and meets every year at the ITU Headquarters in Geneva.

The Council ensures constant oversight of the Union’s activities, policies and strategies, manages Working Groups on specific topics set up by Plenipotentiary Conferences or by the Council itself, and prepares the ITU Strategic and Financial Plans for presentation to the Plenipotentiary.

Each of the five ITU administrative regions is entitled to a number of Council seats, as follows: • Region A —The Americas (9 seats) • Region B — Western Europe (8 seats) • Region C — Eastern Europe and Northern Asia (5 seats) • Region D — Africa (13 seats) • Region E — Asia and Australasia (13 seats).

The total number of Council seats is based on 25% of the number of ITU Member States, with number of seats per region allocated on the basis of the total number of ITU Member States from each of the five regions. The number of Council seats was increased from 46 to 48 by the 2010 Plenipotentiary Conference, to reflect ITU’s growing membership (now 193 Member States).

The winning candidate Member States for the ITU Council are:

  • Region A — The Americas (9 seats) – Argentina; Bahamas; Brazil; Canada; Cuba; El Salvador; Mexico; Paraguay; United States.
  • Region B — Western Europe (8 seats) – France; Germany; Greece; Hungary; Italy; Spain; Switzerland; Turkey.
  • Region C — Eastern Europe and Northern Asia (5 seats) – Azerbaijan; Czech Republic; Poland; Romania; Russian Federation.
  • Region D — Africa (13 seats) – Algeria; Burkina Faso; Côte d’Ivoire; Egypt; Ghana; Kenya; Morocco; Nigeria; Rwanda; Senegal; South Africa; Tunisia; Uganda.
  • Region E — Asia and Australasia (13 seats) – Australia; China; India; Indonesia; Iran (Islamic Republic of); Japan; Korea (Rep. of); Kuwait; Pakistan; Philippines; Saudi Arabia; Thailand; United Arab Emirates.

There is no restriction on the number of countries that can put forward a candidature for ITU Council, and no restriction on the number of terms a country can serve on ITU Council. The countries which have served the most terms on Council since 1947 (when ITU Council was formally created by the Plenipotentiary Conference in Atlantic City) are: Brazil, China, France, Italy, Japan, Russia, Switzerland, and the United States.

The Council takes all steps necessary to facilitate the implementation of the provisions of the ITU Constitution and Convention, the Administrative Regulations (International Telecommunications Regulations and Radio Regulations), as well as the decisions and resolutions of Plenipotentiary Conferences and other meetings of the Union.

The Council also sets up specialized Working Groups to deal with specific issues as needed. In 2001, the Council Working Group on Reform established the Council Troika. Consisting of the outgoing, sitting and incoming Chairs of the Council, the Troika ensures a smooth transition between acting Chairs.

  • Was this article Helpful ?
  • yes   no
© International Telecommunication Union 1865-2018 All Rights Reserved.
ITU is the United Nations' specialized agency for information and communication technology. Any opinions expressed and statistics presented by third parties do not necessarily reflect the views of ITU.

ITU Member States elect ITU Council and Radio Regulations Board members

Send this to a friend